The country is divided into different areas for purposes of elections. These areas are called electoral constitutencies. The voters who live in an area elect one representative.

For Lok Sabha elections, the country is divided into 543 constituencies. Each Parliamentary constituency has within it several assembly constituencies. The same principle applies for Panchayat and Municipal elections. Each village or town is divided into several ‘wards’ that are like constituencies. Each ward elects one member of the village or the urban local body.

- extracted from Electoral Constituency, What is our system of elections?, Electoral Politics, Social Science Class 9, NCERT

Got any questions?