The 'seats' talked about are the members of Lok Sabha. The Lok Sabha of India consists of 543 members. The members are elected by a system known as 'proportional system by means of single tranferable vote system'. For simplicity, we explain here only the 'proportional system': the country is divided into 543 parts, known as 'electoral constituencies'. One person is elected from each electoral constituency. Thus, a total of 543 members are elected.

In 2014, of the 543 members of the Lok Sabha, 282 members belonged to the Bhartiya Janata Party.

Got any questions?